Planning & Zoning

The City of Ely Planning and Zoning Commission handles land use planning and zoning issues. The Planning Commission is made up of seven residents with the majority who live in the city limits of Ely. The at large members have three year terms. The Zoning Administrator regularly attends Planning and Zoning Commission meetings. 

The Commission chooses a chair, vice-chair, and secretary at the first meeting of the year. Robert’s Rules of Order are followed for proceedings.

The chair also serves on the Projects Committee.


The duties and responsibilities of the Commission are the following: 

  • Members must have knowledge of the community and regularly attend meetings.
  • The Commission makes recommendations to the City Council concerning land use issues
  • The Commission handles land use planning issues such as platting, inquiries from developers, and making sure the city’s Comprehensive Plan is followed and updated.
  • The Commission handles zoning issues which often include researching the city zoning code and communicating with property owners.
  • The Commission will conduct business as the Board of Adjustment when a variance, conditional use permit, rezoning, or platting is required.
  • The Commission communicates with the Zoning Administrator, Operations Director, Clerk-Treasurer and City Attorney. The Commission reports to the City Council.


Scott Kochendorfer- Planning and Zoning Administrator

Angela Campbell- Council Rep

Scott Anderson
Term Expires: 01/31/2027

Mike Banovetz
Term Expires: 01/31/2025

Jeanette Palcher 
Term Expires:  01/31/2025

Emily Roose
Term Expires:  01/31/2027

Alan White
Term Expires: 01/31/2026

Dave Hernesmaa
Term Expires: 01/31/2024

Tim Riley

Term Expires: 01/31/2025


Regular Meetings:  3rd Wednesdays of the Month

5:30 P.M. Mayor's Conference Room, City Hall